JHladikVoss57's Blog

Pliny Explained

Posted on: June 1, 2016

Here’s the full thesis/premise. I was happily making more and more of these monoprints. It occurred to me that I could make both true and false statements in this series. Let the viewer decide.
And now for the eureka moment. The INTERNET! Pause. Soak that up.
Meant to be a tool that encompasses all knowledge. As did Pliny’s encyclopedia.
Doesn’t. Didn’t. Never will.
But it gives me universal range. I can make a print about anything that strikes my fancy. Which is what I’ve been doing.

My website is http//:www.hladikvoss.com

You can buy my artwork directly on my Etsy site: Printmistress888.etsy.com

Today’s print is from the biology side:
“Natural History: Polar Bears”.

Aquatint etching, chine collé, linocut, trace transfer monotype. Monoprint. Edition 1/1.  For sale! Contact me for details.

NH:Polar Bears

Just the Facts: (of the Natural History Monoprint Series)
Image size=12″x 18″. Framed 24″x 30″. Printed on Rives BFK white archival paper. Edition 1/1. To begin, each print background consists of 2, differently colored, inked, aquatinted copper plates printed over each other. This produces the variegated stripes.
Then I employ a variety of printing techniques: linocuts, collograph, etchings, monotyping, chine colle, etc., to create the subject. I design all the fonts by hand.

Sign up!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 440 other followers

