JHladikVoss57's Blog

Natural History History

Posted on: May 30, 2016

More today on the origins of my monoprint series “Natural History”.
Some years ago, I came across an interesting historical factoid. I wrote it down.
Soon there after I read an article about Pliny the elder, an ancient Roman historian, who wrote the world’s first encyclopedia, “Historia Naturalis”. See where this is going?
I started to collect other bits of odd history and general facts I found intriguing. Things people probably knew nothing about.
One day it occurred to me that I was on to something. I made the first 10 of the monoprints, entered some in a national competion, was accepted to the show, and had one print purchased for their permanent museum collection. I took that as a sign from above. I’m all about omens and portents.

Tomorrow: more about Pliny and the underlying thesis of this project. There has to be a “Why?” I won’t make art without it.
Then, a link to my art website the day after. In progress. Will welcome comments. It’s been lying fallow the past few years while I have been consumed and subsumed with a plethora of illness. Digging my way out-

Today’s Monoprint: “Natural History: Dollar Bill”. Aquatint, hard ground etching, chine colle,linocut,trace transfer monotype. Dollar Bill. 1/1. Contact me-It’s for sale!

NH:One Dollar Bill

“Natural History: Dollar Bill” Judith Hladik-Voss

Just the Facts:
Image size=12″x 18″. Framed 24″x 30″. Printed on Rives BFK white archival paper. Edition 1/1. To begin, each print background consists of 2, differently colored, inked, aquatinted copper plates printed over each other. This produces the variegated stripes.
Then I employ a variety of printing techniques: linocuts, collograph, etchings, monotyping, chine colle, etc., to create the subject. I design all the fonts by hand.

Sign up!

 

1 Response to "Natural History History"

So complex and multilayered

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 444 other followers

