JHladikVoss57's Blog

History of History

Posted on: May 28, 2016

I promised I would start giving you an explanation for the subject matter of my monoprint series,”Natural History”.
I love history. I think it is important. Doomed to repeat and all that. Context for every part of life. You know, history.
I detest what I find to be a more and more common attitude among younger people, ( uh oh, dangerous territory here! ) to explain away ignorance by simply stating, “that happened before I was born”.
Okay. I can’t control that seeming pride in being uneducated, clueless, and oblivious to the world.
I can have fun with my target audience, however.
Intrigued? Next post: The History of Everything. With an introduction to the world’s first encyclopedia, “Historia Naturalis”, and Pliny the Elder. Trust me on this!

Today’s print, in keeping with my Memorial Day patriotic theme:
“Natural History: Church and State”.  NH:Church:State

Ponder the implications of that….

Just the Facts:
Image size=12″x 18″. Framed 24″x 30″. Printed on Rives BFK white archival paper. Edition 1/1. To begin, each print background consists of 2, differently colored, inked, aquatinted copper plates printed over each other. This produces the variegated stripes.
Then I employ a variety of printing techniques: linocuts, collograph, etchings, monotyping, chine colle, etc., to create the subject. I design all the fonts by hand.

Sign up!

2 Responses to "History of History"

Oh I agree !

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 444 other followers

