JHladikVoss57's Blog

Art Through The Ages And Feminism #8

Posted on: February 8, 2015

NH:Art HistoryCan you imagine this? When I was in college, my primary art text mentioned only 3 women-with pictures of only 2 works. Invisible? More than that. I had to push my way into discussions of technique in the studio. The head of the department wasn’t an overt misogynist- in fact his daughter was an art major in my class. And his wife was a professor of art at the local community college. ( Though that says the world, doesn’t it? ). Then again, I never defined myself by gender. My parents never did. My sister exposed me to feminist thought when I was in high school. AND, I’ve always had a very good opinion of myself. Very Good!

The only reason I was so brave was that I shared classes with several faculty wives who wouldn’t stand for that kind of treatment. And my first faculty advisor believed in me. Isaac Peterson-we shared a Swedish heritage-and he found me naively amusing.

I was told not to bother applying for graduate school. As it stood, it wasn’t a financial or health option at that time for me. Moot.

So grateful to be my age. And to have the courage of my hard won convictions. 

This print is very early-in the first 10? Simple composition.

See you tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 440 other followers

