JHladikVoss57's Blog

Artist Date 62: Standing On…? Wondering Where I Am.

Posted on: April 18, 2014

A great blog review of the Be Mine exhibit.

A Wandering Jewess

"Love is Pain." Artist, Judith Hladik-Voss. “Love is Pain.” Artist, Judith Hladik-Voss.

Love is pain.

That is what the quilt says.  Right in the center on a big red heart.  All around it are stages, stops – like on a game board.  Candy Land or Risk.  Yeah, Risk.

Love.  Joy.  Desire.

Trust.  Faith.  Intimacy.

Jealousy.  Anger.  Betrayal.

Heartbreak.  Wound.

Anxiety.  Disillusion.  Despair.

Loss.  Grief.

It is Valentine’s Day.  I am at the Greenleaf Art Center for the exhibit – Be Mine.  I am meeting my girlfriends here, but they are stuck in traffic.  So I am alone.  Impromptu Artist Date 62.  My second this week.

I step back and look at the quilt that greets me as I walk in the door, wondering where I am on it.

Joy.  Desire.

I met a man.  Or perhaps I should say, re-met.  We knew each other once upon a time.  Kind of.   We are getting to know one another – not quite again…

View original post 773 more words

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 440 other followers

